Esther_Kokmeijer_1.jpeg

International scientific cooperation is fundamental to the implementation of the seventeen United Nations Sustainable Development Goals, involving science and decisionmaking institutions involved with governance mechanisms and built structures. The changing Arctic has increasingly important global consequences, generating strategies that involve Arctic and non-Arctic States along with Indigenous Peoples' Organizations to enhance international cooperation with science. 

Research and action contributions with science in the Arctic are highlighted by the 2017 Agreement on Enhancing International Arctic Scientific Cooperation that is binding among the eight Arctic states and the Arctic Science Ministerial (ASM) process that began in 2016 among Arctic and non-Arctic states with Arctic Indigenous Peoples' Organizations. This holistic (international, interdisciplinary and inclusive) project will address the inevitable question: What are the relationships and synergies between the Arctic Science Ministerial (ASM) process and the 2017 Arctic Science Agreement, both of which involve ministries and science?

 
The training on Enhancing International Scientific Cooperation: Arctic Science and Technology Advice with Ministries is composed of a series of 3 webinars, namely:

First Webinar: 21 February, 2022, at 13:00 GMT (04:00 AK / 07:00 CST / 08:00 EST / 14:00 CET/ 15:00 EET / 16:00 Moscow / 22:00 Japan)
1. What is Arctic Science?

How do natural sciences, social sciences and indigenous knowledge ‘fit together’ and enhance each other?
How is science facilitated/conducted? Who is needed to do ‘the science’?
Is international cooperation needed? If so, to what degree?

Second Webinar: 10 March, 2022, at 13:00 GMT (04:00 AK / 07:00 CST / 08:00 EST / 14:00 CET/ 15:00 EET / 16:00 Moscow / 22:00 Japan)
2. How can science transform data into evidence for informed decisionmaking?

How are the decisions on what priorities are to be addressed made?
Who are the decision makers?
What evidence is needed and how is that evidence defined?

​Third Webinar: 24 March, 2022, at 13:00 GMT (04:00 AK / 07:00 CST / 08:00 EST / 14:00 CET/ 15:00 EET / 16:00 Moscow / 22:00 Japan)
3. What international efforts/processes are needed to facilitate progress in understanding the Arctic system and its global impacts?

What are the mechanisms that exist?
Are these mechanisms adequate?
How could enhanced science cooperation impact other areas of international relations?

PLENARY KEYNOTES

Webinar 1: What is Arctic Science?

Prof. Andrey Petrov – Associate Professor, University of Northern Iowa, US; Former President, International Arctic Social Sciences Association (IASSA).
Mr. Henry Burgess – Head, UK Arctic Office, Vice-President, International Arctic Science Committee (IASC).
Dr. Kirsi Latola – Vice-President Networks, University of the Arctic, Finland; Chair, European Polar Board.
Webinar 2: How can science transform data into evidence for informed decisionmaking?

Prof. Anne Husebekk – Professor and Former Rector, UiT | The Arctic University of Norway; Vice-President for Freedom and Responsibility in Science, International Science Council;
Prof. Larry Hinzman – Executive Director, Interagency Arctic Research Policy Committee (IARPC); Assistant Director for Polar Sciences, Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP), Executive Office of the President, The White House; President, IASC.
Dr. Volker Rachold – Head of the German Arctic Office, Germany; Co-Host ASM2.
Webinar 3: What international efforts/processes are needed to facilitate progress in understanding the Arctic system and its global impacts?

Dr. Andrey Bryksenkov – Deputy Director, Russian State Hydrometeorological University; Co-Host ASM4.
Dr. Anne Puech – Deputy Director of Department on Ecology, Agronomy, Environment, Earth and Universe Sciences Sector, Ministry of Higher Education, Research and Innovation; Co-Host ASM4.
Amb. Anton Vasiliev – Russia's Senior Arctic Official 2008-2014; Ambassador to the Republic of Iceland 2014-2020.
Ms. Fran Ulmer – Former Lt. Governor, Alaska; Former Chair, US Arctic Research Commission; Senior Fellow, Arctic Initiative, Belfer Center, Harvard Kennedy School.
Dr. Hiroyuki Enomoto - Vice Director-General, National Institute for Polar Research, Japan; Co-chair ASM3 Science Advisory Board, Japan; Vice-President, International Arctic Science Committee (IASC).

More Info: https://www.unitar.org/event/full-catalog/enhancing-international-scientific-cooperation-arctic-science-and-technology-advice

Designed & hosted by Arctic Portal