The eight Arctic governments signed the Agreement on Enhancing International Arctic Scientific Cooperation (sometimes colloquially referred to as the Arctic Science Agreement) on May 11, 2017 in Fairbanks, Alaska; the Agreement entered into force on May 23, 2018.

The Agreement facilitates access by scientists of the eight Arctic governments to Arctic areas that each government has identified, including entry and exit of persons, equipment, and materials; access to research infrastructure and facilities; and access to data.

The Agreement also calls for the parties to promote education, career development and training opportunities, and encourages activities associated with traditional and local knowledge. 

The Agreement applies to these areas, as described in Annex 1 of the Agreement:

Arctic Science Cooperation Agreement Map 300 dpi color


National Points of Contact |closed

A protocol for communication with the points of contacts is being developed. It is indended for you to work with your own national point of contact, who will in turn raise any issues with their international colleagues.

Canada | Polar Knowledge Canada Email
Canada | Global Affairs Canada, Security and Defense Relations
Point of Contact for Marine Scientific Research requests
Kingdom of Denmark | Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Department for Northern America and the Arctic Email
Kingdom of Denmark | Danish Agency for Science and Higher Education Email
Kingdom of Denmark | Department of Foreign Affairs Email
Kingdom of Denmark | Ministry of Education, Culture, Research and Church Email
Kingdom of Denmark | Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Culture Email
Kingdom of Denmark | Ministry of Environment, Industry and Trade Email
Finland | Ministry of Education and Culture Email
Iceland | Ministry of Education, Science and Culture Email
Iceland | The Icelandic Center for Research Email
Norway | Ministry of Education and Research Email
Norway | The Research Council of Norway Email
Russian Federation | Ministry of Education and Science Email
Sweden | Ministry of Education and Research Email
United States of America | US Arctic Research Commission
Dr. John Farrell, Executive Director
United States of America | US Deptartment of State
For authorization of Marine Scientific Research
IASC is happy to be a point of contact and consultation for those in non-party counries.


Designed & hosted by Arctic Portal