Professor Gail Fondahl was elected as the new president of the International Arctic Social Sciences Association (IASSA) at the Council meeting in Akureyri, Iceland. Professor Fondahl, University of Northern British Columbia (UNBC), takes over from Joan Nymand Larsen and will be president for the term 2011-2014. Gail Fondahl is also active in the IASC Social & Human Sciences WG Steering Group as Vice Chair.

The IASSA secretariat will move from Iceland to Canada and the next International Conference of Arctic Social Sciences (ICASS) will be hosted by in 2014 UNBC in Prince George, Canada.

Besides a president, a new council was elected in Akureyri. Below you will find an overview of the full new IASSA Council.



Gail FondahlGail Fondahl - President elect

University of Northern British Columbia, Canada


Joan Nymand LarsenJoan Nymand Larsen - Outgoing president (ex-officio)

Stefansson Arctic Institute, Akureyri, Iceland


Alona YefimenkoAlona Yefimenko

Indigenous Peoples Secretariat, IPS, Copenhagen, Denmark


Andrey PetrovAndrey Petrov

University of Northern Iowa, USA


Birger PoppelBirger Poppel - Re-elected

University of Greenland, Nuuk, Greenland


Chris SouthcottChris Southcott

Lakehead University & Yukon College, Canada


Florian StammlerFlorian Stammler - Re-elected

Arctic Centre, University of Lapland, Rovaniemi, Finland


Peter SchweitzerPeter Schweitzer - Re-elected

University of Alaska Fairbanks, USA


Tatiana VlasovaTatiana Vlasova

Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, Russian Federation

Designed & hosted by Arctic Portal