We are delighted to announce the shortlist for the 2021 IASC Medal, awarded in recognition of exceptional and sustained contributions to the understanding of the Arctic.

The shortlisted candidates are:

  • Robert Corell, for outstanding achievements in understanding the interface between Arctic science and public policy; and for the promotion of Arctic research through mentorship and leadership

  • Atsumu Ohmura, for outstanding achievements in understanding complex climate and glacier relationships, global energy budgets, and thermal energy flow in the Arctic; and for excellence in program building, international collaborations, and mentorship in the cryospheric sciences

  • Peter Wadhams, for outstanding achievements in understanding sea ice, ocean, and climate interactions and feedbacks; and for significant and sustained international collaborations in polar environmental research

  • Donald A. (Skip) Walker, for outstanding achievements in understanding Arctic geobotany, landscape dynamics, and biological conservation; and for contributions to understanding Arctic vegetation through novel mapping technique

IASC would like to thank the 2021 IASC Medal Committee, who reviewed the nominations: Karen Frey (Chair), Mary Edwards, J. Otto Habeck, Yuji Kodama, Enooyaq Sudlovenick.

The winner of the 2021 IASC Medal is expected to be announced mid-February and the winner is expected to deliver an award lecture and be presented with their Medal at the Arctic Science Summit Week 2021 online.

Designed & hosted by Arctic Portal