

2016 Highlights and Upcoming events

ASSW 2016 largest ever

Since 1999, IASC and its partner organizations convene the annual Arctic Science Summit Week (ASSW). With over 1000 participants from more than 30 different nations and more than 130 different institutions, the ASSW 2016 was the largest ever. The Summit, hosted by the University of Alaska Fairbanks on 12-18 March, included both the business meetings of the various ASSW partner organizations, including numerous side meetings, and the 3rd Arctic Observing Summit.

For the first time, the Arctic Council decided to use the ASSW to hold the Senior Arctic Officials meeting back to back with the scientific meetings. The International Arctic Assembly Day in the middle of the week provided an excellent opportunity for dialogue between scientists and policy makers to translate scientific research into specific plans and actions responding to a rapidly changing Arctic.

www.assw2016.org



Polar 2018, Davos (Switzerland) 15 - 27 June 2018

The joint SCAR/IASC conference POLAR 2018, will be held in Davos, Switzerland. The International Scientific Organizing Committee of the conference is co-chaired by Martin Schneebeli (Switzerland, SCAR Delegate and IASC Council Member), Karin Lochte (Germany, SCAR Vice-President and IASC Council Member) and Huigen Yang (China, IASC Vice -President and SCAR Delegate).

www.polar2018.org



ICARP III Final Report

The official outcomes of the Third International Conference on Arctic Research Planning (ICARP III) were presented at the ASSW 2016 International Arctic Assembly Day. The report, entitled "Integrating Arctic Research – A Roadmap for the Future" presents the key messages that emerged from the 2-year ICARP III process.

Initiated by IASC with engagement from its partners, ICARP III provided a process for integrating priorities for forward-looking, collaborative, interdisciplinary Arctic research and observing, and for establishing an inventory of recent and current synthesis documents and major developments in Arctic research.

ICARPIII Final Report

ASSW 2017, Prague (Czech Republic) 31 March - 07 April 2017

The ASSW 2017 will be held in Prague (Czech Republic) on 31 March - 07 April 2017.

A Science Symposium, entitled "A Dynamic Arctic in Global Change" takes place on 04 - 07 April and includes the three sub-themes: (1) Changes in the Arctic, (2) Global Implications of Arctic Changes, and (3) Impacts of Global Changes on the Arctic. www.assw2017.eu



BiPolar Think Tank

IASC and the Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR) have a strong history of addressing joint challenges for both the Arctic and the Antarctic. The most recent International Polar Year was of course one example. In an effort to continue to work together to jointly address Polar issues, the two organizations held an Arctic and Antarctic Think Tank meeting in Potsdam, Germany to strategize future priorities.

IASC Strategy

Following the outcome of ICARP III and based upon the recommendations of the IASC Review Committee, IASC started a discussion on its future strategy. An intitial exchange of ideas took place during the Council meeting at ASSW 2016 and a 2-day brainstorming retreat of the Executive Committee, Working Group Chairs and Fellows was held in Akureyri, Iceland on 10-11 October 2016.

Recognizing that the ICARP III research priorities are IASC's Grand Challenges defining the overarching strategy, the Executive Committee is developing an IASC Strategic Plan to be presented at the ASSW 2017. WG Strategic Plans will be built on this plan and address elements of the ICARP III priorities.



IASC Secretariat

For general questions, you can reach the secretariat at info@iasc.info

IASC website

www.iasc.info, hosted by the Arctic Portal.

Potsdam, Germany Office

Volker Rachold, Executive Secretary Mare Pit, Executive Officer Heike Midleja, Administrative Officer

IASC Working Groups (WG) support:

Atmosphere, Marine, Terrestrial WGs

Yoo Kyung Lee

IASC Officer, hosted by the Korea Polar Research Institute (KOPRI)

Contact: yoo.kyung.lee@iasc.info

Cryosphere WG

Tetsuo Sueyoshi

IASC Officer, hosted by the Japanese National Institute of Polar Research Institute (NIPR) Contact: sueyoshi.tetsuo@nipr.ac.jp

Social & Human WG

Susan File

IASC Officer, hosted by Polar Knowledge Canada.

Contact: susan.file@polarcom.gc.ca

IASC Fellowships & Early Career Support
Maja Lisowska, affiliated with the Polish

Centre for Polar Studies and the Polish Polar Consortium.

Contact: maja. lisowska@us.edu.pl

IASC secretariat moves to Akureyri, Iceland in 2017

Iceland, which is represented in IASC by the Icelandic Research Council (RANNIS), will host the IASC Secretariat in Akureyri for the next 5 years (2017-2021).

Since 2009, the IASC Secretariat has been located in Potsdam, Germany and financed by the Alfred Wegener Institute (AWI) and the German Science Foundation (DFG). Earlier it was located in Sweden and Norway.

The decision on the relocation of the IASC Secretariat was taken at the IASC Council meeting held at ASSW 2016. Akureyri hosts institutions dealing with Arctic issues, including the Stefansson Arctic Institute, the Arctic Council Working Groups PAME (Protection of the Arctic Marine Environment) and CAFF (Conservation of Arctic Fauna and Flora), the Iceland Arctic Cooperation Network and the Arctic Portal.



Allen Pope new IASC Executive Secretary

Dr. Allen Pope will be IASC's new Executive Secretary as of January 2017. Before coming to IASC, Allen held positions as a research scientist at the National Snow and Ice Data Center (University of Colorado Boulder) and the Polar Science Center (University of Washington). He has worked extensively with a range of international scientific organizations, including as a council member of the American Geophysical Union and president of the Association of Polar Early Career Scientists.



You can find out more about Allen and his research at https://about.me/allenpope. He also enjoys sharing and discussing polar science with the public and tweets @Pope-Polar.

IASC Council

Country Organization

Austria

Canada

China

Czech Republic

Denmark/Greenland

Finland

France

Germany

Iceland

India

Italy

Japan

The Netherlands

Norway Poland

Portugal

Russia

Republic of Korea

Spain Sweden

. . .

Switzerland

United Kingdom

USA

Austrian Polar Research Institute (APRI)

Polar Knowledge Canada

Chinese Arctic and Antarctic Administration

Centre for Polar Ecology

Agency for Science, Technology and Innovation

Delegation of the Finnish Academies of Science and Letters

Institut Polaire Français

Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

RANNÌS, The Icelandic Centre for Research

National Centre for Antarctic and Ocean Research (NCAOR)

National Research Council of Italy

Science Council of Japan

The Netherlands Organization for Scientific Research

The Research Council of Norway

Polish Academy of Sciences, Committee on Polar Research

Portuguese Foundation for Science and Technology

The Russian Academy of Sciences

Korea National Committee on Polar Research

Comité Polar Español

The Swedish Research Council

Swiss Committee on Polar Research

Natural Environment Research Council

International Arctic Research Center

Representative

Wolfgang Schöner

Wayne Pollard

Huigen Yang, Vice-President

Josef Elster

Naja Mikkelsen, Vice-President

Kari Laine

Yves Frenot

Karin Lochte

Thorsteinn Gunnarsson

M. Ravichandran

Carlo Brabante

Tetsuo Ohata

Peter Jordan

Susan Barr, President

Jacek Jania

João Canario

Vladimir Pavlenko, Vice-President

Yeadong Kim

Manuel Catalan

Magnus Friberg

Martin Schneebeli

Henry Burgess

Larry Hinzman, Vice-President